Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

I Drank A Glass Of Warm Lemon Water Every Morning For 7 Days. Here’s How It Affected My Body
littlethings.com
Sep 15, 2017 1:05 PM
I Drank A Glass Of Warm Lemon Water Every Morning For 7 Days. Here’s How It Affected My Body

Growing up, I was always told by my mom that adding a slice of fresh lemon to your tea is supposed to give your immune system a boost. She also advised that sprinkling fresh lemon juice over your salad makes the veggies taste better and gives you a load of vitamins, too. Moreover, for the past couple of years, she’s been drinking warm lemon water every morning, and she has been trying to convince me to start doing the same.

Why would I want to replace my hot morning coffee with warm acidic water? Well, I did some proper research, and it looks like there’s actually something to it! It appears that starting your morning with a glass of warm lemon water might be way more beneficial than I thought.

Well done, mum! You win this round — check below to learn what happened after I drank warm lemon water for an entire week.

What Are The Benefits Of Drinking Warm Lemon Water In The Morning?

<u>What Are The Benefits Of Drinking Warm Lemon Water In The Morning?</u>
Angie Verike for LittleThings

Although the internet is full of people claiming that warm lemon water does miracles — like balancing your pH levels or promoting healing — this isn’t quite true. The vitamins and acids found in lemons are capable of doing those things, but you’d need a much larger quantity to really see a difference. 

I will give you a rough summary on theactual benefits that drinking a glass of warm lemon water in the morning can provide, but you can find more detailed information in this article right here.

1. A Small Immune System Boost

Lemons contain vitamin C, which is good for your immune system, and mornings are a time when your body absorbs everything best. Therefore, drinking warm lemon water at the beginning of the day will give your immune system a gentle boost. According to the Mayo Clinic, this concoction is a great, non-abrasive way to feel better when you’re sick.

2. A Slightly Healthier Stomach

Since your liver works super hard when you sleep, it’s very important to have loads of water as soon as you wake up to help it out and hydrate your body. If you also add some lemon to that water, it will encourage proper stomach acid and bile production. 

3. A Gentle Digestive Kick 

It is proven that warm lemon water in the morning can kick-start your digestive system. That means that any food that comes after the lemony drink will be digested easier, and the nutrients from it will be taken in better. The properties in lemons also aid gut health, according to the National Library of Medicine

4. Slightly Increased Metabolic Rate

Since lemon water will kick-start your digestive system, the metabolic rate will automatically increase, too. In a small way, a faster metabolism helps to keep the weight off — The CDC recommends drinking it in place of sweetened drinks if you want to lose weight. 

5. Healthier Skin

All of the benefits mentioned above can lead to healthier skin. The vitamin C found in lemons also slightly stimulates collagen production and can improve the look and feel of your skin in the long run.

6. It’s A Soothing Start To The Day

The warmth of the water eases your insides as the lemon works its magic — proven to make you more relaxed. Using cold water can shock your body in the morning and do more harm than good. Warm water also makes the lemon taste better.

What I Hope The Lemon Water Does For Me

<u>What I Hope The Lemon Water Does For Me</u>

Angie Verike for LittleThings

As is visible in the picture, I get a lot of these little spots on my upper arms. They are likely a result of some sort of food intolerance, but I am not aware of what it is. 

With the summer weather now in full force, I really hope that drinking warm lemon water in the mornings will clear these spots up and leave my skin feeling healthy and clear.

How Do You Make Warm Lemon Water?

<u>How Do You Make Warm Lemon Water?</u>

Angie Verike for LittleThings

Making lemon water is as simple as it sounds. Here’s all you need:

  • half a lemon
  • room temperature filtered water
  • a splash of boiling water (optional)
  • a mug

Step 1: Squeeze The Lemon Juice Into A Mug

<u>Step 1: Squeeze The Lemon Juice Into A Mug</u>

Angie Verike for LittleThings

You can use a lemon squeezer or just your hands. Remove any seeds that fall into the mug.

Step 2: Fill Most Of The Mug With Filtered Water

<u>Step 2: Fill Most Of The Mug With Filtered Water</u>

Angie Verike for LittleThings

Add a splash of boiling water, if you want. Again, cold water can shock your system!

Step 3: Drink The Sour Concoction Like A Pro

<u>Step 3: Drink The Sour Concoction Like A Pro</u>

Angie Verike for LittleThings

One cup every morning on an empty stomach is supposed to benefit your body greatly, so let’s see what this does for me!

Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 1

<u>Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 1</u>

Angie Verike for LittleThings

On the first day of my experiment, I used a rather small mug for a large piece of lemon. I also decided to make the drink with room temperature water, as it was a hot morning and all of my research said it can work just as well when it’s lukewarm-to-warm water.

The drink came out much more sour than I expected and woke me right up! I’m not sure how this much acid is good for an empty stomach, though. I didn’t really feel any immediate effects, aside from feeling a little queasy.

Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 2

<u>Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 2</u>

Angie Verike for LittleThings

Today I decided to go for a bigger cup in hopes of making the drink less sour. According to my research, the amount of water doesn’t really matter as long as you use at least half a lemon.

It worked! The drink was less sour, but still didn’t taste very nice. This time I sipped it as I got my breakfast ready, instead of just downing it.

Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 3

<u>Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 3</u>

Angie Verike for LittleThings

Today I made the drink with warm water instead of room temperature water. Surprisingly, this made the drink tastemuch better. And it still had that “instant wake-up” effect on my body! From now on, I am going to stick to only drinking it warm.

Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 4

<u>Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 4</u>

Angie Verike for LittleThings

I have to say, I’m starting to get used to the taste of warm lemon water in the morning. It wakes me up pretty instantly. Could this be a replacement for coffee? 

Apart from that, no other effects.

Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 5

<u>Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 5</u>

Angie Verike for LittleThings

Last night I went out to a Chinese restaurant, where I gorged on all kinds of delicious, but greasy, foods. Due to this greediness, I woke up today feeling really stuffed and bloated. 

Having a glass of warm lemon water kick-started my stomach instantly. I was soon feeling much better. It’s safe to say this was one morning in which the effects of this magical beverage were very evident!

Drinking Warm Lemon Water: Day 6

 
 
Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe: